OSDFS Grants Forecast FY 2007

The U.S. Department of Education’s Offi ce of Safe and Drug-Free Schools announces the following grant competitions for 2007. For detailed information about each grant program, including eligibility requirements and application availability and deadline dates, contact the staff member listed with each announcement.

Grants to Reduce Alcohol Abuse
This program assists local education agencies (LEAs) in the development and implementation of innovative and effective alcohol-abuse prevention programs for secondary school students.
Contact: Amalia Cuervo at amalia.cuervo@ed.gov or
Phyllis Scattergood at phyllis.scattergood@ed.gov
http://www.ed.gov/programs/dvpalcoholabuse/index.html

Grants for School-based Student Drug-Testing Programs
This program awards grants to LEAs to implement student drugtesting programs and to provide early intervention for students who are using drugs.
Contact: Sigrid Melus at sigrid.melus@ed.gov or
Kandice Kostic at kandice.kostic@ed.gov
http://www.ed.gov/programs/drugtesting/index.html

Emergency Response and Crisis Management Grants Program
This program supports emergency response planning at the district and school levels. Grantees are required to address all four phases of crisis planning: prevention and mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery. Contact: Sara Strizzi at sara.strizzi@ed.gov http://www.ed.gov/programs/dvpemergencyresponse/index. html Safe Schools-Healthy Students Initiative This program supports the development of community-wide approaches to create safe and drug-free schools and promote healthy childhood development. LEAs must partner with local law enforcement, public mental health, and juvenile justice agencies. This program is jointly funded and administered by the departments of Education, Justice, and Health and Human Services.
Contact: Karen Dorsey at karen.dorsey@ed.gov http://www.ed.gov/programs/dvpsafeschools/index.html

Alcohol and Other Drug Prevention Models on College Campuses
The goals of this competition are to identify models of effective alcohol and other drug prevention programs at institutions of higher education and disseminate information about these programs to other colleges and universities where similar efforts may be adopted. Contact: Richard Lucey at richard.lucey@ed.gov or Ruth Tringo at ruth.tringo@ed.gov http://www.ed.gov/programs/dvpcollege/index.html

Foundations for Learning Grants
This program provides funds to LEAs and other agencies for programs to help eligible children become ready for school.
Contact: Earl Myers at earl.myers@ed.gov http://www.ed.gov/programs/learningfoundations/index.html

Grants for the Integration of Schools and Mental Health Systems
This program supports activities that increase student access to quality mental health care by developing innovative programs that promote cooperative services between school systems and local mental health systems.
Contact: Dana Carr at dana.carr@ed.gov http://www.ed.gov/programs/mentalhealth/index.html

Cooperative Education Exchange Program
This program supports development of curricula and teacher training programs in civics, government, and economic education. Outreach to participating eligible countries is encouraged to exchange ideas and experiences in civics, government, and economics. Contact: Rita Foy Moss at rita.foy.moss@ed.gov http://www.ed.gov/programs/coopedexchange/index.html